CONSENT AGENDA NO. 14

Approval of Minutes of the August 28, 2012 Special Meeting

It is recommended that the Board approve the minutes of the August 28, 2012 Board of Trustees special meeting.

Board Members and Officers Present:

Mr. Jerry Prater (chair)

Ms. Charletta Rogers Compton

Mr. Bob Ferguson

Mr. Wesley Jameson

Dr. Wright Lassiter (board secretary and chancellor)

Mr. Bill Metzger

Mr. JL Sonny Williams

Absent:

Ms. Diana Flores

Chairman Prater convened the meeting at 4:02 p.m.

CERTIFICATION OF NOTICE POSTED FOR AUGUST 28, 2012 SPECIAL MEETING OF THE DALLAS COUNTY COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT AND RICHLAND COLLEGIATE HIGH SCHOOLS BOARD OF TRUSTEES

I, Wright L. Lassiter, Jr., Secretary of the Board of Trustees of the Dallas County Community College District, do certify that a copy of this notice was posted on the 24th day of August, in a place convenient to the public in the District Office Administration Building, and a copy of this notice was provided on the 24th day of August, 2012, to John F. Warren, County Clerk of Dallas County, Texas, and the notice was posted on the bulletin board at the George Allen Sr. Courts Building, all as required by the Texas Government Code, §551.054.

Wright L. Lassiter, Jr., Secretary

Certification of Notice Posted for the Meeting

Dr. Lassiter certified the notice had been posted as required.

Public Hearing on Tax Increase for Fiscal Year 2012-2013

Chair Prater opened the public hearing, recognizing the following speakers who had registered to speak on the topic:

- 1. Terry Reid (against)
- 2. Tillie Perkins (against)
- 3. Gabriel Bach (for)
- 4. Scott McKim (against)
- 5. Tracy Eubanks (for)
- 6. Bob Bishop (against)
- 7. Brad T. Underwood (against)
- 8. Nolanda Butler (for)
- 9. George R. Burridge (against)
- 10. Martha Sanchez Metzger (against)
- 11. Paul Mayer (for)
- 12. Larry Johnson (against)
- 13. Mary Anne Harper (against)
- 14. Mary Ann Harman (against)
- 15. Adriana Liberto (against)
- 16. Dorothy Zimmerman (against)
- 17. Liz Moser (against)
- 18. Eugene Ralph (against)
- 19. Charles Lingerfelt (against)

Trustee Compton clarified for the record that the DCCCD Foundation Board is a separate entity from the elected DCCCD Board of Trustees.

Chair Prater thanked the speakers for their input and confirmed that the formal vote will occur during the regular meeting of the Board on Tuesday, September 4, 2012.

Executive Session

There was none.

Adjournment

Trustee Ferguson moved and Trustee Compton seconded a motion to adjourn the meeting. Motion passed. Board Chair Prater adjourned the meeting at 5:20 p.m.

Approved:

Wright L. Lassiter, Jr., Secretary