CONSENT AGENDA NO. 2

Approval of Minutes of the May 7, 2013 Special Meeting (Public Forum)

It is recommended that the Board approve the minutes of the May 7, 2013 Board of Trustees Special Meeting (Public Forum).

Board Members and Officers Present:

Mr. Jerry Prater, Chair Ms. Charletta Rogers Compton Mr. Bob Ferguson Ms. Diana Flores Mr. Wesley Jameson Dr. Wright Lassiter (secretary and chancellor) Mr. JL Sonny Williams

Members Absent:

Mr. Bill Metzger

Chair Prater convened the meeting at 6:04 p.m.

CERTIFICATION OF NOTICE POSTED FOR THE MAY 7, 2013 SPECIAL MEETING OF THE DALLAS COUNTY COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT AND RICHLAND COLLEGIATE HIGH SCHOOL BOARD OF TRUSTEES

I, Wright L. Lassiter, Jr., Secretary of the Board of Trustees of the Dallas County Community College District, do certify that a copy of this notice was posted on the 3rd day of May 2013, in a place convenient to the public in the District Office Administration Building, and a copy of this notice was provided on the 3rd day of May 2013 to John F. Warren, County Clerk of Dallas County, Texas, and the notice was posted on the bulletin board at the George Allen Sr. Courts Building, all as required by the Texas Government Code, §551.054..

Wright L. Lassiter, Jr., Secretary

Certification of Notice Posted for the Meeting

Dr. Lassiter certified the notice had been posted as required.

Public input regarding chancellor qualifications

One speaker, Rene Martinez representing LULAC District 3, proposed that the next chancellor be tasked to actively recruit additional Latino students, to provide a smooth transition path for students continuing studies beyond community college, and continuing emphasis in hiring diverse faculty, staff and administrators throughout the District.

The trustees directed the staff to continue to accept input through telephone and email as the final position profile is confirmed.

Executive Session

There was no Executive Session.

Adjournment

Chair Ferguson adjourned the meeting at 6:17 p.m. with a motion from Trustee Prater and a second by Trustee Flores.

Approved:

Wright L. Lassiter, Jr., Secretary