Phi Theta Kappa

Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society for community colleges.

Founded in 1918 to give prestigious recognition to students with excellent scholarship and character, Phi Theta Kappa provides enrichment in four areas: scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship.

Many scholarship opportunities are available, including the USA All-American Scholarships and the Guistwhite Scholarship Program.

Inducted members are not only recognized for their outstanding academic achievements but also have opportunities to develop leadership and professional skills, earn scholarships and explore career paths.

Learn more at Phi Theta Kappa National and Phi Theta Kappa Texas.

Member Benefits

  • Recognition of outstanding academic accomplishments
  • Golden Key membership pin, membership certificate and ID card
  • Recognition by wearing Phi Theta Kappa commencement regalia during college graduation
  • Free enrollment in PTK Connect
  • Resources to provide you with skills that can help ensure future success
  • Recognition during college induction ceremony
  • $90 million in scholarship opportunities for PTK members only
  • Personalized letters of recommendation for scholarships and employment

Becoming a Member

Qualified candidates must:

  • Have a minimum 3.5 GPA
  • Have completed 12 college credit hours from Dallas College and be currently enrolled as a student. Both part-time and full-time students are eligible for membership.
  • Receive an invitation to join. Students achieving these standards who have not received an invitation letter should contact the appropriate PTK advisor.

The cost of membership for Phi Theta Kappa is a one-time fee of $95. If you need financial support to pay the membership fee, please contact your campus chapter advisor for help.

Although each Dallas College campus operates its own chapter, students are welcome to join any chapter within the college. Please see the chapter advisor list below.

Phi Theta Kappa Advisors

Rebekah Benavides

Dr. Tommy Thompson

  • Lead

Rebecca Rios-Harris

  • Scholarships/Service

Jarlene DeCay

  • Administrator

Sharon Cook

Student Officers

Kendra Harrison

Eduardo Moralez

Myisha Coleman

Monica Medina

Cathy Edwards

Darius Frasure

Dr. Sherry Boyd

Jon Ewing

Melanie Pruit

Christopher Manes